Haruna Iddrisu, 10 other NDC MPs sued by state over march at EC headquarters

1 Mins read

Some members of the Minority in Parliament have been sued for breaching the Public Order Act for unlawful assembly.

This follows the NDC MPs breaching a security barricade to present a petition at the Electoral Commission headquarters on Tuesday morning.

The petition, among other things, demanded that the EC Chairperson, Jean Mensa “cause to be collated the Techiman South Constituency Parliamentary and Presidential Elections Results from all the 266 Polling stations in accordance with the law, with immediate effect.”

En route to the EC’s office at Ridge, a scuffle ensued as police personnel tried to bar the agitated MPs from going beyond the Ridge Roundabout.

The MPs defied the orders of the police who said they were not aware of any walk by the Minority to the EC offices.

In the latest twist of events, 11 of the NDC MPs who engaged the security personnel in yesterday’s standoff have also been sued for failing to notify the police about the event, per a copy of the suit sighted by JoyNews.

The enjoined MPs are Haruna Iddrisu, Muntaka Mubarak, Samuel George, John Jinapor, Rockson Dafeamekpor, Ras Mubarak, Adam Mutawakilu, Dr Kwabena Donkor, Bashir Alhassan Fuseini and Kwabena Minta Akandoh.

Related posts

There is nothing like NPP or NDC Speaker

1 Mins read
The Speaker of Parliament, Rt Hon. Alban Bagbin has stated that there is nothing like an NDC or NPP elected Speaker adding…

I haven’t said NPP is Majority in Parliament – Bagbin clarifies

1 Mins read
Speaker of Parliament Alban Bagbin today left both NPP and NDC caucuses confused with his ruling on which party constitutes Majority in…

New Patriotic Party (NPP)’s Tema West MP, Carlos Ahenkorah has apologised for snatching some ballot papers.

4 Mins read
New Patriotic Party (NPP)’s Tema West MP, Carlos Ahenkorah has apologised for snatching some ballot papers during the election of the Speaker…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *